2019 Dr. Jean Mosee Young Writers Contest Winners

Congratulations to Our Winners!

The Metropolitan (DC) Chapter of The Links, Incorporated is honored to announce the winners of its 37th Annual Dr. Jean Mosee Young Writers Contest! The judges had a difficult time choosing from a record number of entries. Thank you to all who participated. The 2020 contest will begin in January of next year.

6th-8th Grade Winners

First Place – Dior Bailey

School Without Walls @ Francis Stevens

Poetry - Excuse Me


Second Place – Takiyah Chappelle

Howard University Middle School of Math and Science

Prose - Takiyah’s Best Trait


Third Place – Aniya Mathis-Day

School Without Walls @ Francis Stevens

Poetry - Black Lives Stand


Honorable Mention – Llaria Luna

Sidwell Friends School

Prose - Whose Turn?


9th-12th Grade Winners

First Place – Eli Au

The Field School

Prose - H Street Rowhouse


Second Place – Sotonye Wokoma

Chesapeake Math and IT South

Prose - I, Perched


Third Place – Kelly Maye

Suitland High School

Prose - The House with the Blue Door


Honorable Mention – Renika Brown

Suitland High School

Poetry – The Three Stages of Love:  The Pain, The Escape, The Reclaim

© 2018 Metropolitan District of Columbia of the Links, Inc.

  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Twitter_Logo_Blue
  • Facebook Social Icon